The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Laptop advice please?

JamieP

I dont have a clue with this stuff, ive been using a toshiba satellite pro for the last 3 years and its been good to me but now getting very tired, battery has had it and the charger is playing up now so i fancy a nice new laptop.

Needs to be 17" screen and decent memory size, budget is £800 tops but rather £600.

Something from the likes of pc world would be good so i can walk in the tomorrow and grab one.

Cheers for any help.

I dont have a clue with this stuff, ive been using a toshiba satellite pro for the last 3 years and its been good to me but now getting very tired, battery has had it and the charger is playing up now so i fancy a nice new laptop.

Needs to be 17" screen and decent memory size, budget is £800 tops but rather £600.

Something from the likes of pc world would be good so i can walk in the tomorrow and grab one.

Cheers for any help.

£600 is a fantastic budget for a laptop Jamie. Is it work related with casual gaming? If you are looking to play some relatively high end games (laptop high end) then the £800 budget might be better but if it's mostly for office, internet, home type stuff then £600 will easily cover it.

What about a laptop with a slightly smaller screen and a standalone screen.

The LG 21" monitors are around £120 at the moment, and you could get a nice laptop for the remaining budget?

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/133-asus-u31jg-rx092x-core-i5-480m-4gb-500gb-hdmi-webcam-card-reader-bluetooth-w7pro-64bit

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/22-iiyama-ple2208hdd-b-black-full-hd-widescreen-monitor-5ms-1920x1080-100001-hdcp

Top end of the budget but this seems to be a decent laptop though I am an Apple fan so I maybe wrong :).

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/samsung-np-rc710-s02uk-17-3-laptop-black-silver-09785397-pdt.html

I do know though their is no point in going for an i7 processor unless your doing big video editing at a professional level.