The mkiv Supra Owners Club

turbo timers

Mark D

How many of you guys on here actually have them?

Are they really that necessary. I know that if you have been giving it a bit of stick then it is wise to let the turbos cool down. But how many of you come down your own driveway with high boost running. I imagine most of you drive fairly sensibly in residential areas.

I guess my question is, if you have been driving without using much boost (or any) for the last few minutes of your journey do you really need a timer?

Do any of you who don't have one leave your engine idling and for how long?

Those of you who do have them aren't you worried that someone will come up with a device to override the timer and just drive off with your car?!!

Before you all answer please make sure it is easy to understand as I am fairly new to all this techno-talk.

I have a Blitz FATT and reckon it's a good little piece of kit. You can set the minimum time and overide with the off switch. You'd be surprised at what sort of driving produces what switch-off times. Obviously if you're running a standard car it's not essential to have one, but at the price and ease of fitting it's an awful lot cheapr than premature turbo failure.

Most have them...its either that or you HAVE to sit and wait for the engine to cool down...

A lot of the newer ones are able to check what you've been doing and decide how long to run the car for... I believe the FATT DC from Blitz has this function.

Originally posted by Alex Holdroyd

Most have them...its either that or you HAVE to sit and wait for the engine to cool down...

A lot of the newer ones are able to check what you've been doing and decide how long to run the car for... I believe the FATT DC from Blitz has this function.

but Alex - can you still use with std Cat1 Alarm? Or has to be Clifford - Yes?

Paul:cool: