The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Getting old !!

tooquicktostop

Well it is starting to show thats for sure, and I am sure those in the late 30's on here have experienced similar :D

I was a chef by trade for over 15 years in fine dining restaurants working split shifts or all day and night for many years and while never really into any high energy sports I was always happy with my fitness levels, I play golf now but used to play ice hockey for a while when I was in my late teens and was a real fan

Well the years have gone by and I have moved to an office based job in an investment back over the last 4 years and added a few pounds :innocent:

To cut a long story short I decided to take the kids to the outdoor ice rink at Canary Wharf a few weeks ago..... now in my head I could still skate, and skate well, but no no no, I was dreadful, the kids mocked and I ended up wiping out a few people in a vein attempt to find the long lost skill, ego bruised (and my ass!) I decided I needed to up the pace a little with a new bike, I have a gym membership, and that is about as close as I get to the gym, just find the whole thing a bit dull

Picked up the bike an hour ago from Decathlon, spent ages looking at the styles and capabilities of the different machines, again never once thinking of my own ability :D, came away with a trial/road hybrid, lights, a computer thing and a little bottle carrier, paid and set off on the 3 mile journey home as my missus had already driven home (got fed up of me looking at the bike specs against price!)

I have not been on a bike on the road for years and again just expected to pick up where I left off, well I got back and have just got my breath back, my legs are on fire and I have oil up my jeans....

Next week I think I will get a skateboard instead :D