The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Anyone fancy teaching me how to weld?

JamieP

I'm a welder,but i'm to far away, or i'd show you,you don't need a course just get one and have a go,it's verry easy after a while,gas is harder than mig and arc is a pain with the slag that you have to knock off,mine peels off but ive been at it a while.

If you have access to a mig that's a start. I was basicly thrown in the deep end when I was learning. What they did was give me pieces of scrap metal, clean then up with a belt sander and off you go. Also had me write my name onto pieces aswel then I just applied the same thing to the job and I picked it up pretty easy.

Its all about the hands on experience. Granted at 1st your welding will probly look like pigeon shit but you learn how to make it better as you go if you take long breaks from it like I have its forever going to look crap :D but if your constantly doing it you shouldn't have a problem

Mig welding for structural steel is very easy if your a hands on bloke. Just be careful of specified welds if you doing structural stuff i.e leg length, root runs etc if it's heavy beams.

If you want a run to north wales in your car;) i'd be willing to spend an afternoon with you in our workshop to teach you the basics:d

Seriously though if you went to night classes i think you would pick it up very quickly, but you will need a decent welder to do steelwork.

How thick is this stuff? Sounds like you are into 3 phase stuff, so you are limited where the welding takes place unless you buy a 3 phase generator too. Sounds like a job for a big MIG set to me.

Ranges from 8mm to about 15mm id guess, the fabrication company i normally use just comes to site and welds it up with a very small box that plugs into my 110v transformers, i will get some pics of what im welding tomorrow.