The mkiv Supra Owners Club

My New Dash Gauges - guide included.

adnanshah247

Well yesterday work was slow, nothing to really do. I work in IT at a school and seen as they have a design and technology department today I took with me my new gauges and took out my dash to see if I can find a way to mount them. Inspired by Jevansio’s dash I always wanted a flush dash with no pods etc. but wanted to keep my stereo in place. So here is what I did today............

First off I removed the cigarette lighter, the single storage compartment the top air vent and the clock. I used a circular drill bit and drilled out the cigarette light. Clock was perfect size for my gauge so then decided how I’m going to mount the remainder gauges and make the upper hole smaller.

I made an mdf plate of the storage comp. to see how much space I have to play with as I wanted to keep my stereo. After that I used some brilliant design software attached to a laser cutter to create perfect circles. I then measured the big hole and made a mdf template for it. Now is the good bits. I have the mdf pieces underneath to support it but then you could clearly see that the gauge is further in, I had to make a piece to make it come out and look flush as one piece. So, I used black plastic and same made templates and cut them out. Put all together and there you have it. Completed the bottom gauges with a hand grinder and began mounting. Was seriously annoying because I had to make so many templates to get the size right!

Took me quite long to do but seriously think I have done myself a good job. Would like to see what you guys think. Tonnes of effort went into it.

I have put in loads of pictures step by step on what I did, it will make more sense than my explanation.

Enjoy!

Adnan

:D ;)

That is impressive, 2 days as well, took me weeks.